Turning 24!

So two weeks ago, I had my 24th birthday. I know I’ve talked on here quite a lot about how my depression spikes around Christmas’s and birthday’s, and so I often struggle. However I managed to largely avoid it this year, it was only the afternoon of the day before my birthday that I felt the black clouds descending, luckily it was only a passing shower, not a full on storm.

This was my 6th birthday since I’ve been chronically ill, 8th if you count the two years when I was definitely ill, but didn’t realise it, although I don’t in this case because I was able to celebrate my 17th and 18th relatively normally.

My birthday didn’t actually get going until about 5:30pm, because I had to wait for my mum to get home from work and for my grandparents to arrive before anything remotely “birthdayish” happened. I was quite worried because the trend of the few days before was me feeling okay in the morning, but then as the day went my pain steadily increased until by around 4pm all I could do was lay in bed in a dark room. Sure enough the pain was steadily increasing, and I didn’t know how I was going to get through presents, cards and chatting, but miraculously when I went downstairs the pain lifted slightly and I was actually able to enjoy myself.

I think appreciating how miraculous it was given how I was feeling an hour before made me enjoy it even more. I didn’t have any cake, but I did treat myself to rhubarb compote with greek yogurt, and it was delicious!

Overall I definitely think this birthday was better than last years (I had a migraine all day and it was significantly marred by the EU referendum – the less said about it the better), so I definitely think that that is a positive sign. Hopefully when I turn 25, I’ll be feeling better still.

If you’d like to watch the vlog I made from my birthday week, you can do that here.

Until next time, Rhosyn.

Leave a Reply

